Update: What Should I Do?

Standard

Again, one holiday after another has passed since I last posted… but I still have been crafting them away! This year around Christmas, we did a Pinterest night in our community. Each store that participated had an activity to do at their store found off the website Pinterest. I love Pinterest and was excited to plan our activities, especially since the hardware store has DIY all over! I spent weeks trying out different activities… it was NOT as easy as I anticipated. The activities had to be short, simple, and take-home that night. Sadly that basically took ALL painting activities away, but with a whole hardware wonderland left, I was bound and determined to find 2 good crafts.

My first trial was a twine ball luminaries.

 

IMG_3196 The goal was to make these rustic looking balls, cut a nice hole on top and them insert a flameless candle.

IMG_3071Materials used:

-Water balloons

-Glue

-Rubber bands

-Twine

-Bowl (to put glue in)

-Paint (for the red ball)

-Gloves

#1: Cut twine off to use for ball. I think I used 7 yard (?)

IMG_3096

#2: Place about 1/2 a container of glue in a bowl you can soak the string in

#3: Blow up the balloons and place rubber bands around them

IMG_3085

#4: The messy part! Put gloves on and start wrapping.

IMG_3089

 

#5: Let the balls dry overnight… the next day you will have the balls pictured above after you pop and remove the balloon debris.

IMG_3083

I prefered the jute-like sisal twine over the cotton-like household twine.

IMG_3181

Note:  If you want a colored ball, add paint to you glue. I added 2/3 glue to 1/3 paint. This was VERY MESSY! And yes… my cheap gloves broke

IMG_3107I did not like this craft very much…  messy, time consuming, and wouldn’t be done within a few hours :/

My second trial was a snowman key

IMG_3225

Supplies:

-White paint

-Green, red, orange, and black paint markers (or sharpies)

-Old key (or you can ask to buy a blank at a hardware store that makes keys)

-Little piece of wire (to dip the key into the paint)

-Suggest wax paper or newspaper for paint mess

-Suggest straw and bottle

#1:  Wrap small piece of wire through key hole

#2: Dip key into white paint. Hold it above the can for a bit and let it drip
IMG_3043

 #3: l let the key hang from a straw inside a cut soda bottle overnight


IMG_3046

#4: I then used the paint markers and drew on a face, buttons, and hat.

Simple! Again, paint had to dry… therefore, it wouldn’t work :/

My third and forth trial

SUCCESS!!!

IMG_3588

Snowflake

IMG_3589

HeartIMG_3590

SnowmanIMG_3586

Cross

Ornaments all made from the nuts and wire at the hardware store 🙂

 

IMG_3805

 This was the necklace I made out of copper and flat washers

The people that did brave the FREEZING COLD and snow seemed to have had a lot of fun.

Next time I hope to made personalized washer necklaces with metal stamps.

Stay tuned!

Leave a comment